Dojo Terms and Instructions
Ranking and Testing Requirements

As we are affiliated with the Canada JKA Karate Federation (CJKF) and the Japan Karate Association (JKA), we follow the testing requirements of the JKA and CJKF (click here for CJKF testing details). 


The nine ranks of colour belts (kyu) are: white, yellow, orange, green, purple (2 levels) , brown (3 levels).


Black belt levels (dan) follow the ranking system established by the Japan Karate Association (JKA). Please click here for the JKA Dan ranking description.


In the Dojo, several Japanese terms are used throughout the class. For beginners, it is not necessary to memories these, though it may help you to familiarize yourselves with them, as they will come up often. Please see the list on the left for basic terms. Scroll down for other info such as Dojo Kun, Kata, and testing requirements.

Dojo Kun

At the end of each class, five rules are recited as follows:



hitotsu, jinkaku kansei ni tsutomuru koto

(Translation: Seek perfection of character)



hitotsu, makoto no michi o mamoru koto

(Be faithful)



hitotsu, doryōku no seishin o yashinau koto

(Endeavor in all training)



hitotsu, reigi o omonzuru koto

(Be respectful)



hitotsu, kekki no yū o imashimuru koto

(Refrain from violent behavior)



Kata Movements

Heian Shodan   21

Heian Nidan      26

Heian Sandan   20

Heian Yondan   27

Heian Godan     23

Tekki Shodan     29

Tekki Nidan        24

Tekki Sandan     36

Bassai Dai          42

Kanku Dai          65

Jitte                     24

Hangetsu           41

Empi                    37

Gankaku             42

Jion                      47

Bassai Sho         27

Kanku Sho         48

Chintei                32

Unsu                    48

Sochin                 41

Nijushiho           34

Gojushiho Dai   67

Gojushiho Sho  65

Meikyo                33

Wankan              24